What do a funeral director, a golf pro, a soldier and a power house operator have in common?

In the short time that I have been writing this blog, I have learned something very important: I am not nearly as alone in my experiences, as I thought I was.

Yes, there are a lot of people out there who share a life with a funeral director – who get all of my stuff.  They deal with it too and understand the unique challenges we face.  Thanks to everyone who has joined in this conversation. 

But this is not about you.  Sorry, Charlie.  Get over yourself 🙂

This is about a bunch of other people out there, who do NOT share a life with a funeral director – who also get my stuff – much to my surprise.

The main common denominator among us is – TIME.

  • The wife of a Golf Pro, who has to schedule a tee-time during the summer months to see her husband.
  • The wife of a Power House Operator, who deals with a 4-on, 4-0ff schedule and third shift hours.
  • The wife of a Corporate Warrior, who travels 75% of the time.
  • Military spouses – need I say more.

We all struggle with time.  

  • Time with our partner,
  • Time for our partner with our children,
  • Time with extended family,
  • Time to connect, restore, rejuvenate,
  • Time to attend events and holidays,
  • Time to pay attention,
  • Time to sleep,
  • Time for ourselves,
  • Time
  • Time
  • Time

We, as funeral director’s wives/partners/friends & family, are not the only people at our party and we need to remember that. 

We may struggle with unique challenges – and that is why this blog is here – but we also need to remember that there are other people out there who get us, even if we don’t think they do. 

Ultimately, I am starting to realize that the people who don’t get us – are far less – than the people who do.   Again, the vocal minority wins a place in my head, when they only deserve a gratuitous nod.

This blog is pushed out to my personal facebook page, where my friends and family sometimes take a look.  I have been really surprised and appreciative of the things my friends have said, because it shows me that they get me more than I thought. 

They also need me, more than I thought. 

And they are also there for me, more than I thought. 

All I had to do was say something.

I really thought I was unique, special, the only chick at my pity party – but I am not.  And I am so glad to know that.

This entry was posted in On-Call, Time and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment