What To Do When “the way it’s always been done” Sucks.

this sucksI am all for tradition. I love holiday meals, summer vacations, special music, church liturgy…things that you can count on. I am also a big fan of processes and procedures.

I like standards. I enjoy measuring up and having the chance to exceed expectations (even if they are just my own).

But sometimes, the way it’s always been done simply sucks.

But sometimes, the way it’s always been done simply sucks. The way that we’ve been doing something, thinking about something, managing something isn’t working and it’s making life…well, suck.

Why does this happen?

There may be a number of contributing factors:

  • It may have sucked all along – but no one did anything to change it – or it was just easier to let it suck.
  • New technologies may have rendered “the way” sucky.
  • Roles and responsibilities of those involved – both personally and professionally – may be different than they always were.
  • Personalities may be different.
  • Economic factors can affect it.
  • Our culture overall – things may just BE different.
  • Our expectations may have changed. Or new expectations have been added to the mix.

When you share life with a funeral director, you are part of an industry that is as old as time. Unlike a budding small businesses hinging on new technologies or meeting current needs, the funeral industry has some deep rooted traditions, habits, “ways” that have been working for a long, long, long time. So, what do you do when you want something to change?

I don’t claim to be a change-expert – and I know there are a lot of people out there who claim this title. Some of them have pretty good thoughts on the subject, but others are just plain nuts. What I do claim to be is someone who usually thinks things through. I like to play out scenarios, in my head. I like to consider the options, take a look at the angles and then make decisions. I execute! I pull the trigger – metaphorically – and not so metaphorically.

Nerd Alert – When I was in high school, I was part of a group call “Future Problem Solvers”. Once a week, I would meet with this club and we worked through scenarios of future problems such as – “It’s the year 2020 and the human race has figured out how to add artificial intelligence to average people. As a result, the suicide rate has increased considerably. Solve this problem.” We had regional, state and international competitions for this – no kidding – and I did pretty darn well.

Since an early age, I have been a change agent. In every position I’ve ever held – even being a mom and wife – I have sought ways to solve problems to make things better. And through these experiences, the most important element to change-making – in my view – is justification.

Justification is defined as the action of showing something to be right or reasonable.

In other words – why do you think a change is needed? What would the benefits of the change be? Can you measure the benefits? Who will benefit? Justification needs to be more than a convenient excuse. It can’t be one-sided. Justification needs to honestly and authentically benefit all –if not most – of the people and things involved in the change. It must consider all of the factors and offer a real, truthful reason for making a change.

Over the next couple of weeks, I am planning to take a look at some of the scenarios that some of us think need some change in our lives with our funeral directors. We’ll talk through the issues, discuss some options and I’ll offer some ideas for encouraging change.

We’ll take a look at:

  • Time – on call schedules, actual vacations, time off, etc.
  • Staffing
  • Pricing & Charges
  • Responsibilities on the homefront
  • Anything else that comes up!

As some of these concepts unfold, please feel free to add your thoughts in our Facebook Group or send me an email. If there is a topic you want me to tackle – please let me know. Let’s work together to make things suck less.

This entry was posted in Balance, Time and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment